A Flight Into Cloud Computing

old cloud

My Old View of “The Cloud”

Last week I had the privilege to attend the IT Cloud Computing Conference (IC3). Before I went to the conference I had a vague idea of what the cloud was. I thought when people referenced the cloud they were referencing data or hosting data on servers owned by other companies. Services like iCloud and Google Drive are just some of these cloud storage services running on top of a cloud infrastructure and are just a small subset of the greater cloud computing environment. What I now understand as the “cloud”, is that it can be broken into two grouping of infrastructure: publicly run, owned and use by other entities (Google, Amazon), or privately owned, used and maintained by the ones owning the cloud system. The public sector of cloud computing allows developers to set up virtual system with flexible computing power as a service instead of a physical asset that is owned and must be maintained. The cloud computing market as it is now is trying to develop computing technology as service. The paper “Scientific Cloud Computing: Early Definition and Experience” written by Lizhe Wang and Gregor von Laszewski, observed that cloud computing should be indistinguishable to the user from a hardware environment, accessing the cloud should be location agnostic along with not needing massive local system requirements. In the end the people accessing cloud services should not need to know how the cloud works in order to access anything utilizing cloud computing. The authors lend ideas about how developers working on cloud platforms have computer systems that they no longer need management teams working on a computer system. On cloud systems individual developers can manage large computer system with ease, allowing them to focuses on creating rather than management of a large hardware infrastructure. The article “Business Models in the Service World” written by Christof Weinhardt, Arun Anandasivam, Benjamin Blau, and Jochen Stößer,

High level view of public and private cloud

High level view of public and private cloud

I  find the article digs more in to the business cost of side cloud computing. The authors for this article found the payment plan “pay per use” to be the most cloud computing platforms leaned towards that payment style as makes computing more of a service industry(pp. 40-41). As I am currently a student in college the prospects of having the ability to set up my own web server without having to own hardware running on a cloud service. In certain cloud ecosystems I can pay for what I use, allowing me to experiment on different development platforms, without the heavy cost of failure associated with owning and maintaining my own hardware. When computing is a service if I need more computing power I can simply buy more power and in seconds I have that power which I find beats out physical upgrading which takes time. In closing I just wanted to get out there a very high overview of cloud computing as a platform. I plan to explore this topic in greater detail as way to help myself and other understand this field.

References

Wang, L., & Von Laszewski, G. (2008). Scientific Cloud Computing: Early Definition and Experience. 1-18. Retrieved November 2, 2014, from http://cyberaide.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/papers/08-cloud/vonLaszewski-08-cloud.pdf

Weinhardt, C., Anandasivam, A., Blau, B., & Stößer, J. (2009). Business Models in the Service World. IT Pro, 36-41. Retrieved November 3, 2014, from

http://www.im.uni-karlsruhe.de/Upload/Publications/2f5d87da-1af5-4d44-b422-9b7e5802b5a5.pdf

